هيئة الطاقة الذرية والحفاظ على البيئة

تقوم الهيئة بالدور الرئيسى فى تأمين البيئة المصرية من أخطار التلوث الإشعاعي الذى قد ينتج من أنشطة أو حوادث نووية تؤدى إلى تلوث فى الهواء أو الماء أو التربة أو قد يصدر من المنشآت النووية فى الدول أو الأقاليم المحيطة بمصر أو قد ينشأ من تداول المواد المشعة واسعة الاستخدام فى مصر. وتتوافر لدى الهيئة الكوادر والخبرات الأساسية التى تساهم فى الحفاظ على البيئة من الملوثات الضارة للإنسان والحيوان والنبات وذلك عن طريق:

المخزن الرئيسى للمواد المشعة المغلقة

• تجميع ونقل النفايات المشعة من المنشآت الطبية ومعامل البحوث بالجامعات والمراكز البحثية بعد تصنيفها وإعدادها للنقل مما يوفر الحماية للعاملين عليها وحماية الجمهور عبر الطرق التى تسلكها. كما تقوم الهيئة بمعالجة هذه النفايات تمهيدا للتخزين الآمن لها.

مخزن مولدات التكنسيوم 99 المستنفذ

• استخدام تقنيات التحليل الإشعاعي للكشف عن الملوثات البيئية السامة والخطرة من المعادن الثقيلة والخفيفة والناتجة عن الصناعات الملوثة للبيئة مثل الحديد والصلب والأسمنت وكذلك الرصاص المنبعث من عادم وقود السيارات وغيرها من ملوثات البيئة.

معمل تحليل اشعاعى

• استخدام تكنولوجيا الإشعاع فى عمليات تدوير المخلفات البلاستيكية والاستفادة منها صناعيا.

المخزن الرئيسى للمصادر المشعة المغلقة

EAEA and Protection of Environment

The EAEA plays a vital role in protecting the Egyptian environment from radiological contamination. This contamination may result from normal nuclear activities or accidents leading to contamination of air, soil or water. The contaminating activities may be local (wide use of radioisotopes in Egypt) or crossing the boundaries (from the neighbor countries). The EAEA possesses the necessary facilities and personnel to protect the environment.

- Radioactive waste handling: The EAEA collects the Radwaste from different facilities that use radioisotopes. The EAEA safely manages this Radwaste. This includes transportation, treatment, conditioning, interim storage and ultimate storage of these wastes.

- Developing and implementing radiological analysis techniques to detect any environmental pollution. This includes measuring heavy and light metals resulting from the environment polluting industries (iron and steel, cement, quarries …etc), also lead from cars exhaust could be accurately measured.

- Mobile laboratory: The mobile lab is a car (van) equipped with the necessary radiation detectors. It is very useful in emergency cases. It can move to the area of interest to carry out the required measurements and facilitate the actions to be taken.

- Use of radiation technology to recycle plastic wastes and make use of them at the industrial level.